This Shower Cap Is My Destiny!

As Pacific Northwesters are well aware, parking one’s bike outside can often result in a wet saddle due to our ever-present rain. Even in summer. Many of us deal with the problem by carrying a plastic bag or shower cap to put over our saddle while we’re away from our precious bike. Sure, you can get a fancy saddle cover at CleverCycles…but why?

In December 2009, expecting my Sweetpea to be delivered forthwith, my mom gifted me a very stylish shower cap for Christmas. For the bike. While the shower cap wasn’t a perfect match with the whole package, it did work with the frame and had some serious character. Bonus—besides protecting my precious Brooks B17 Special from the rain, since this shower cap wasn’t clear it could also potentially thwart thieves, who also like to steal Brooks saddles. Can’t be tempted to steal what you don’t know is there, right?

Anyhow, I’ve been using this shower cap for about two years now—a year longer than I would have liked. Toward the end of my time in Vancouver BC, I noticed small holes that were starting to let rain permeate now and again. When I was home briefly in April I searched high and low for an exact replacement, to no avail. During the summer I searched on Ebay, trying to find something that would look just as splendid. Nothing.

(Although if I could have found where to get one in the US, this Hello Kitty/Union Jack shower cap would have been great.)

Whipped around in the wind for more than 20 hours to and from Montana on the back of my car this summer, the thing was really looking shabby. And sporting a large rip (left).

Knowing something needed to be done, Monday evening I went to check out the shower caps available at my local Fred Meyer.

Pink. Purple. Some barely discernable textured flowers on them. Yawn.

But wait…what was that?

My shower cap! Just one. In the very back of the bunch. This shower cap was my destiny! I quietly shrieked, snatched it, took a photo, and sent it by text to my mom: OMG OMG OMG OMG.

The new shower cap looks great, and now I know how to keep myself supplied. It may be just a $2 shower cap, but it’s the perfect solution to my practical needs and my wish to be inexpensively stylish.

2 Comments

Filed under Bicycles

2 responses to “This Shower Cap Is My Destiny!

  1. Which Freddys? I looked at Hawthorne and only found the purple/pink ones. I’ve gotten my shower caps for Brooks from Dollar Tree in the past, but they’ve been out of them.

    • My local Fred Meyer is Johnson Creek Boulevard, and still there was just one. My guess is that they’re popular among cyclists, meaning you’d have more luck in the outlying stores than Hawthorne, which is like bike central.

Leave a Reply

