What If? In Case of Emergency

Recently Atticus and I were involved in a crash.

It wasn’t a major crash or anything, but they’re always good at shaking up your life a bit anyhow.

What perfect timing then, that I should come across a blog article about crashes and pets, through the perspective of a fellow cyclist.

In Will You Be Coming Home to Your Dogs Tonight?, Susi shares the story of when she and her husband were in a bike crash that involved a short hospital stay. When they headed out on their ride they had no idea they wouldn’t be returning home to their dogs that night. In the piece, Susi shares her thoughts on how to plan for such an eventuality—and as most emergency preparedness goes, planning ahead is key. It’s not as hard as you may think!

The thought of not making it home to Atticus has crossed my mind now and again, but it’s usually gone in a flash. Reading Susi’s article got me thinking about easy steps I can take to ensure Atticus does not languish if the unspeakable occurs. (I will admit though, when you live next door to your family, half the work is already done.)

How have you prepared for this type of emergency? Got any more tips to share?

4 Comments

Filed under Bicycles

4 responses to “What If? In Case of Emergency

  1. Your link to the article is a link to Atticus’s picture. I’d like to read it, though. :)

  2. I cannot thank you enough for this post. I have a dog and have worried about this very thing, but never taken it further than the thought. I will be sure to create a plan before my next bike ride. Thanks!!!

  3. This just in for Portland area residents! Jo Becker of Oregon City will be teaching a class for preparing for pet disasters this November in Milwaukie, Oregon.

Leave a Reply

